Texas DWI Laws

1st Offense Fines

Texas DWI Laws

Driving While Intoxicated, (DWI) is drunk driving. In Texas, the state has set limits to the Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) to determine if you are too intoxicated to drive.
In Texas, the BAC levels are 0.08% for drivers over 21 years old, 0.04% for commercial drivers and drivers under 21, any detectable amount can result in an arrest. The first offense carries fines up to $2,000, jail time of 72 hours to six months, and a license suspension of 90 days up to a year. The second offense carries fines up to $4,000, jail time of 30 days to one year, and a license suspension of six months to 2 years. The third offense raises fines up to $10,000, jail time of 2 to ten years and a license suspension of six months to 2 years. DWI offenders driving with a child passenger, age 15 or younger face fines up to $10,000 and jail time of 180 days to two years regardless of the number of offenses.
Texas is known for still penalties, and several counties have local judges and prosecutors that pride themselves on high conviction rates, high fines and high jail time. It is extremely important that if you have been charged with a DWI that you get the best representation possible. DWI fines and jail time can disrupt your life for years to come, affect your loved ones, ruin your career and cause severe mental stress and strain.
Without the right defense you are throwing yourself at the mercy of the court. Contact Ashley Morgan Law Firm today to find out how we can help you fight and win your DWI case.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *